Deactivating a School/Board

When deactivating a school and/or board from Epicenter, we recommended the following steps:

  1. Step 1: Verify that all the school/board's submissions have been uploaded. Once you deactivate a board or school, you can no longer upload any submissions. To view those submissions:
    1. Go to Compliance Center
    2. Select the  tab.
    3. Limit the list to only display the requirements for the school/board that is being deactivated:
      1. Select the  filter bubble
      2. Select only the school/board being deactivated
      3. Select  
    4. Limit the list to only show the requirements that have not been submitted:
      1. Select the  filter bubble
      2. Change the "through" date to include the date of the final scheduled submission for that school/board
      3. Select  
      4. Select the  filter bubble
      5. Uncheck the " Submitted" checkbox
      6. Select

  2. Step 2: Forgive or Exclude incomplete and/or past due requirements. To do so:
    1. Select the icon at the end of a requirement’s row.
    2. To Forgive (if you want a record of this entity having been scheduled to submit this requirement):
      1. Click 
      2. On the Single Entity Adjustment Page, select the " Forgiven" checkbox.
      3. To Exclude (if you want there to be no record of this entity having been scheduled for this requirement):
        1. Select the  button at the top right
        2. Scroll to the bottom
        3. Select the  at the end of the entity’s row
          1. If this is the only school/board assigned to the requirement, use the button instead.
    3. Continue this process for all unsatisfied requirements.

  3. Step 3: Deactivate the school/board.
    1. Enter  School Center or  Board Center
    2. Select the school/board from the list
    3. Select the  button found in the top-right area of the page
    4. Enter in a Deactivated Date
    5. Select

  4. Step 4: Edit the school/board's users.
    1. Enter  Administration from the Homepage
    2. In the Security and Permissions section, select the Manage Groups link
    3. Scroll down to the School Staff section
    4. Select the school/board group that is being deactivated
    5. On the User Group Detail page, look in the Users section
    6. For each user:
      1. Select the user’s row
      2. On his/her User Account Detail page, look in the User Groups section
      3. If the user only has access to the school/board that is being deactivated, click the   button.
      4. If he/she has access to another school/board that is not being deactivated, select the icon at the end of the row of the school/board that is being deactivated.
      5. Continue on with this process for each user.
  5. Step 5: Delete the School/Board's User Group.
    1. If you are still on the school/board's User Group Detail page
      1. Select the  button
      2. Select the Back to User Groups link at the bottom of the page
    2. Otherwise
      1. Enter  Administration from the Homepage
      2. In the Security and Permissions section, select the Manage Groups link
      3. Scroll down to the School Staff section
      4. Select the school/board group name that was deactivated
      5. Select the  button
      6. Click OK.
  6. Step 6: Add “(Deactivated)” to the school/board's Entity Group. This helps you remember which school(s)/board(s) have been deactivated when sending user invitations.‚Äč
    1. Select the  tab
    2. Scroll down to the Schools and Boards section
    3. Select the school/board group that was deactivated
    4. Select the  button
    5. Add “(Deactivated)” to the end of the name
    6. Select 

Did you find this article helpful?